The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao; Book Review + Creative photos + own quote graphics

This Chinese mythology inspired, middle grade fantasy book will surely give you the perfect dose of adventure, humor, and sassiness.

Title: The Dragon Warrior

Author: Katie Zhao

Publisher: Bloomsbury Kids

Publication date: 15 October 2019

Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy

~ Amazon ~ Book Depository ~ Goodreads ~

Synopsis:

As a member of the Jade Society, twelve-year-old Faryn Liu dreams of honoring her family and the gods by becoming a warrior. But the Society has shunned Faryn and her brother Alex ever since their father disappeared years ago, forcing them to train in secret.

Then, during an errand into San Francisco, Faryn stumbles into a battle with a demon–and helps defeat it. She just might be the fabled Heaven Breaker, a powerful warrior meant to work for the all-mighty deity, the Jade Emperor, by commanding an army of dragons to defeat the demons. That is, if she can prove her worth and find the island of the immortals before the Lunar New Year.

With Alex and other unlikely allies at her side, Faryn sets off on a daring quest across Chinatowns. But becoming the Heaven Breaker will require more sacrifices than she first realized . . . What will Faryn be willing to give up to claim her destiny?

Inspired by Chinese mythology, this richly woven contemporary middle-grade fantasy, full of humor, magic, and heart, will appeal to readers who love Roshani Chokshi and Sayantani DasGupta.

To start off this blog post, I just want to thank Shealea of Caffeine Book Tours for having me as one of the lucky reviewers of The Dragon Warrior. I am forever grateful for this opportunity. See welcome post here.

The story sets off with a twelve year old Faryn Liu as she run an errand to buy his grandfather’s medicine, little did she know, that night will change her life completely.

The series of events escalated quickly and Faryn found herself branded as the Heaven Breaker. Together with her brother Alex, and her former friend Moli, they set on a great quest to fulfill her duty as the Dragon Warrior and find their father along the way.

The closest thing that I can compare to the story is Kung Fu Panda. Like Po, Faryn Liu was given a task to save the world, they both don’t know how to be a dragon warrior but thankfully, they got a lot of help from the people around them, or gods in that instance. The only difference between them is that Faryn is raised to be a warrior, she just doesn’t know that there’s a burden in being one.

I love how the story is light yet has a deep meaning. It is about finding oneself and accepting who you are. It is about family and friendship. This is honestly a great book for children to read and learn about a lot of things. This book taught me that there’s a warrior inside us no matter who we are and that we should learn to control the situation instead of letting it to control us.

Creative Photos

Just a little disclaimer: This is supposed to be a a creative photo but it is no where near that. The book cover is too gorgeous that it doesn’t need any props or colorful background. The book alone stands out and is very pleasing specially the color pallet.

Own Quote Graphics:

AUTHOR INFORMATION

Bio:

Katie Zhao is a 2017 graduate of the University of Michigan with a B.A. in English and Political Science, and a 2018 Masters of Accounting at the same university. She is the author of Chinese #ownvoices middle grade fantasy THE DRAGON WARRIOR (Bloomsbury Kids, October 2019 & 2020), as well as a young adult author. She is a mentor for Author Mentor Match. She is currently open to freelance editorial services for young adult and middle grade manuscripts.

Author Website Goodreads Instagram Twitter

JOIN US!

One thought on “The Dragon Warrior by Katie Zhao; Book Review + Creative photos + own quote graphics

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s