Book Review: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray

I am so privileged to be a Coffee Bean at Caffeine Book Tours by Shut Up, Shealea so I took my chances and signed up for an adventure to discover new worlds and read yet an amazing story. Today’s post is about A SHIFTING OF STARS by KATHY KIMBRAY. Want to know more about this book? Then continue reading this spoiler free review.

check out the blog tour launch post here

About the Book

Title: A Shifting of Stars

Author: Kathy Kimbray

Publisher: Self-published

Publication date: 28 May 2019

Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy

Synopsis:

A squandering emperor. A handsome stranger. A reluctant heroine. And the ancient magic that will capsize a kingdom.

Seventeen-year-old Meadow Sircha watched her mother die from the wilting sickness. Tormented by the knowledge that the emperor failed to import the medicine that would have saved her, she speaks out at a gathering of villagers, inciting them to boycott his prized gladiator tournament.

But doing so comes at a steep cost.

Arrested as punishment for her impulsive tongue, Meadow finds herself caught up in the kind of danger she’s always tried to avoid. After a chance meeting with an enigmatic boy, she’s propelled on a perilous trek across the outer lands. But she soon unearths a staggering secret: one that will shift her world—and the kingdom—forever.

Filled with longing and heart, surprise and wonder, A SHIFTING OF STARS is perfect for fans of AN EMBER IN THE ASHES, RED QUEEN and SHADOW AND BONE.

Book links: Goodreads Amazon

My Review:

Reading this book is very timely for me because I am currently watching a series with the same story, a corrupt government. A shifting of stars is about a young girl who experienced the cruelty and injustice of those in power.

Well, some might think that this is a cliche story just how I did before but the turn of events told me why authors keep on writing these kind of stories. For one, not all stories are the same that’s why they all need to be heard.

I commend the writing style of the author for being so catchy that she got me right on the bat. I love the main character Meadow and how she is a cautious girl. I think I can relate to her in that aspect. She is also a brave and strong girl that will do anything for her love ones.

I don’t know how else I’m gonna tell my thoughts without completely spoiling everything so I am leaving my favorite quotes as well as my two cents in this story.

A. I was hooked at the story just by reading the first sentence. I know that it’s gonna be one great adventure.

B. I was shocked by how the story turned out. Definitely got me gone crazy towards the end.

“I should have run.”

Chapter four. Yes girl. This is the story of my life.

“…mashing the humiliation into the ground until nothing is left.”

Chapter fourteen. I guess this takes a lot of courage.

“Sometimes important people come into your life and you need to pay attention!”

Rating 4/5 stars.

Click here for the giveaway!

Join us!

About the author

Kathy Kimbray is a YA author from Australia.

After graduating from the University of Technology, Sydney, with a degree in Media Arts and Production, she went on to complete postgraduate studies in education and spent many years as a primary school teacher.

Now a full-time novelist, Kathy is lucky to be able to tell stories every day.

Aside from writing, Kathy is an avid reader, dancer, language learner, musical theater enthusiast and fan of terrible reality TV. She lives with her husband in Sydney, and dreams of one day owning that elusive chateau in France.

Author links:

Author website Goodreads Instagram Facebook Twitter

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: A Shifting of Stars by Kathy Kimbray

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s